On September 6, the Nebraska Medical Association held its 2019 Annual Membership Meeting and Awards Ceremony. Installed as President was Todd Hlavaty, MD, of North Platte. Dr. Hlavaty is a radiation oncologist and has been an active member of the Nebraska Medical Association.  He is also a member of the American Society of Therapeutic Radiation Oncology, the American Medical Association, Leadership Lincoln County and serves as Board of Directors for the Mid Nebraska Community Foundation.   Nominated as President-elect was Michelle Walsh, MD, of Lincoln.

Award winners for 2019 were also named: Distinguished Service to Medicine includes Richard Blatny, Sr., MD, Fairbury, Stacie Bleicher, MD, Lincoln, Michelle Petersen, MD, Lincoln, and David Watts, MD, Omaha; Physician of the Year is Michele Mulligan-Witt, MD, Valentine; Young Physician of the Year is Jordan Warchol, MD, Omaha; Friend of Medicine is Dale Mahlman, Lincoln; Physician Advocate of the Year is Beth Ann Brooks, MD, Lincoln; and Student Advocate of the Year is Olivia Sonderman, Omaha.

In addition, twenty-seven 50-year practitioners were recognized and $42,500 in scholarships were presented to deserving medical students at UNMC and Creighton University.

The Nebraska Medical Association was founded in 1868, and currently represents nearly 3,000 Nebraska physicians, residents, and medical students. The mission of the Nebraska Medical Association is advocating for physicians and the health of all Nebraskans.