U.S. Senator Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), a member of the Senate Commerce Committee, released the following statement after the Department of Transportation (DOT) announced three Nebraska airports, Gordon, Red Cloud, and Thomas County, will be awarded supplemental discretionary grants. The grants will support improvements and rehabilitation of the airports’ runways.

“Nebraska’s rural airports keep our families, communities, and businesses connected. I’m happy to see the Department of Transportation invest in runway improvements at our airports in Gordon, Red Cloud, and Thomas County. These additional resources will provide increased safety for travelers and better facilitate the flow of commerce,” said Senator Fischer.

Individual awards listed below:

  • Gordon Municipal Airport (Gordon) – $1.5 million
  • Red Cloud Municipal Airport (Red Cloud) – $3.21 million
  • Thomas County Airport (Thedford) – $4.365 million

Picture from: http://www.ktifthedford.com/