March 1st was the last day for non-incumbents to file for office for the primary election in Nebraska.  In the KVSH listening area, there are 5 candidates for 3 seats for Valentine City Council.  Ross Brockley, Kalli Kieborz, and Kyle Arganbright challenged by Valentine residents Jason Gale and Max Eggert.  This race will be decided in the fall during the General Election.

On this spring’s primary election, Cherry County Commissioner race will eliminate one of 3 candidates between incumbent Martin Denaeyer, Shane Daniels and Greg Hobbs.

The Valentine Community Schools candidates will also be on the primary ballot.

Shane Kime and Jo Hand are challenged by Byron Burdick of Wood Lake, Lynde Elliot of Sparks, and James B Ward, Michelle Kluender and Tyler Eggert all of Valentine.

In the 43rd District race for State Senate, Tanya Storer will be running against Tony Tangwall to replace Sen. Tom Brewer who cannot run for another term due to term limits.

Nebraska’s statewide primary will be held on May 14th.