Eleven Sandhills residents, past and present, were honored for their dedication to the cowboy way of life with induction into the Nebraska Sandhills Cowboy Hall of Fame.

They are Dave Knight of Keith County, Bill J. Manning of Cherry County and Mick Phillips of Garfield County.

Cowboys being honored posthumously include: Dave Campbell of Wheeler County, Bill Gallino of Cherry County, Walter E Gibbons Sr. of Custer County, Lowell Minert of Blaine County, Mike Welker of Cherry County, Bill White of Grant County, Rita White of Grant County, and George Winters of McPherson County.

The 17th annual Nebraska Sandhills Cowboy Hall of Fame Banquet and Induction Ceremony was held June 11 at the 4-H Building at the Cherry County Fairgrounds in Valentine, Nebraska.