Leo Brinda Unit 90 of the American Legion Auxiliary is proud to announce local winners and entries going to state in the nationwide Poppy Poster Contest.  

This year three schools took part: Kennedy School, Valentine Middle School and Valentine Elementary School. 184 posters were received and judged.

Entries to State:

Class I – Elise Brown 2C VES

Class II – Breckyn Burney Grade 4 Kennedy

Class III – Rylee Ward Grade 7 VMS

Class IV – Jacob Brackeen Grade 8 VMS

Judges were veterans of the Vietnam War.   

All posters and first grade poppy coloring sheets will be displayed at the Valentine Veteran’s Club in the basement.

They can be seen by everyone during the 1884 Day Breakfast, 7AM-11AM, sponsored by Post 90 and the Sons of the American Legion Squadron 90.

All winners will be on the south wall. The south wall will also feature color copies of the four entries to state competition.  

The annual People’s Choice Award will be given to the poppy poster that receives the most votes. All eligible posters will be numbered. 

Vote for any poster not going to state.  

Unit 90 will be distributing the ALA Memorial Poppy for donations; look for those ladies and Poppy Girls too.

Awards for winning posters were donated by a member of the Sons of the American Legion Squadron 90, and Past Area D Commander Don Nelsen donated the duckies for the coloring sheets.

Poppy Poster Winners 2021

Kennedy School

Class I Bronx Burney

2nd Katelyn Blackford

Class II Breckyn Burney

2nd Carter Anderson

Class III Wesley Willert

Class I – 2B VES

1st Syerra Dawson

2nd Emma Homan

3rd Ella Eggert

3rd Sadie Bachelor

Class I – 2C VES

1st Elise Brown

1st Amelia Wonnenberg

3rd Ellie Hamling

Class I – 3A VES

1st Emillia Ward

2nd Rhett Ward

3rd Whittley Cumbow

Class I – 3B VES

1st Sydnee Dawson

2nd Emmit Johnson

3rd Spencer Broom

Class I – 3C VES

1st Cooper Kruger

2nd Haley Jo Thorpe

3rd Dylan Dent

Class II – 4A VES

1st Bayley Burdick

2nd Alexandra Monroe

3rd Isabella Johnson

Class II – 4B VES

1st Cole Boes

2nd AraVani Johnson

3rd Maren Cronin

Class II – 4C VES

1st Jacob Nickisch

Class II – Grade 5 VMS

1st Audrey Heinert

1st Madysyn Bopp

2nd Austin Diebler

3rd Melody Davis

Class III – Grade 6 VMS

1st Tierney Miller

2nd Hope Woodraska

3rd Kelsie Whiting

Class III – Grade 7 VMS

1st Rylee Ward

2nd Grace Murphy

3rd Samantha Sprenger

Class IV – Grade 8 VMS

1st Jacob Brackeen

2nd Neeley Cronin

3rd Savannah Fullerton

HM John Fulton

HM Wambli Brown  

Coloring Sheet Winners:


1st Cooper

2nd Ashlynne

3rd Chloe

HM Noah

HM Jozalyn


1st Gunnar

2nd Brooke

2nd Kase

3rd Shayla

HM Kyra


1st Alycia

1st Wesson

2nd Robert

3rd Gracee

HM Brooklyn