Nebraska Extension Tractor Safety & Hazardous Occupations Courses will take place at nine Nebraska locations this year. Teens 14 or 15 years of age who will work on a farm should plan to attend.

Federal law prohibits youth under 16 years of age from working on a farm for anyone other than parents or legal guardians. Certification received through this course grants an exemption to the law allowing 14- and 15-year-olds to drive a tractor and to do field work with specific mechanized equipment.

The course consists of two days of instruction plus homework assignments. This class is not intended to teach how to drive a tractor. Youth should have basic skills in driving a tractor before they attend the class.

Valentine is the site for one of the classes to be held June 6 and 7 at the Fairgrounds beginning at 8 AM CT.

Participants must submit a registration form to the Cherry County Extension Office by May 26 or call to register. Registration forms and additional information are available at For more information, contact the Extension Office at 402-376-1850.